Ebony & Ivory (AKA Chocolate and Vanilla)

Ebony and Ivory: White & Dark Chocolate

Ebony and Ivory: White & Dark Chocolate

To celebrate the launch of our brand new Events@TexasTech event calendar, I am baking cupcakes! I took a quick poll and chocolate and vanilla were the most popular. I decided to make both. Sadly, the song Ebony and Ivory started running through my head about an hour ago and I can’t get it out.

I love the tanginess of sour cream, so I decided on sour cream versions of white and dark chocolate. Results were mixed. I’m very happy with the taste of both cakes, but the vanilla batter was a bit flabby. I’m a big fan of the perfect dome and these just didn’t get it up, so to speak. The chocolate was perfect! Silky smooth and perfect domes. Note: This might be worth a try to get the perfect cupcake dome every time.

Sour Cream Vanilla with White Chocolate

Sour Cream Vanilla with White Chocolate

Sour Cream Vanilla with White Chocolate
1 Box Pillsbury White Cake Mix
2/3 cup flour
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/3 cup oil
1 cup sour cream
1 cup water
1 T vanilla bean paste
3 ounces melted and cooled white chocolate (Belgian)
Yield: 2 dozen + 6 minis

Sour Cream Triple Chocolate
2 Boxes Pillsbury Devils Food Cake Mix
2/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup oil
3/4 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups brewed coffee, cooled
1 T vanilla
Dash of almond extract
1/c cup water
1 T coffee powder
6 ounces melted and cooled dark chocolate (Belgian, 70% cocoa)
Yield: 45

A note on equipment:
Baking this many cupcakes at once was a bit of a challenge for this home bake. I used every muffin tin I own! I have a double oven, but I don’t like to crowd. Read more about my essential equipment.

The Final Product

I made vanilla bean buttercream (1/2 pound of butter, 1/2 pound of cream cheese, 2 pounds of powdered sugar) and creamy chocolate frosting (right from the side of the Hershey’s can).

About Lisa Du Bois Low

Digital Fanatic; High Ed Web developer and SM Community Manager; Crisis Communications Student; Google Analytics Addict.
This entry was posted in chocolate, coffee, sour cream, vanilla, vanilla bean, white chocolate. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

