Reese’s Dreams of Coffee

Espresso Spiked Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

What do Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups dream of? Coffee of course!

I caught an old episode of Barefoot Contessa and just had to make her Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Icing. Results were good. I wish the cake was just a tad moister, but the frosting is smooth and delicious. Almost like peanut butter cookie dough. These aren’t overly sweet, so I really liked them! My son did too!

I made a couple of minor changes:

  • Instead of brewed coffee, I used 1 teaspoon of espresso powder.
  • I increased the powdered sugar in the frosting to 2 cups and added more heavy cream to compensate.

I was really lazy yesterday, so I piped the icing from a gallon-size freezer bag. Sadly, my brand new tip ended up in the disposal. RIP. Another trip to Big Plate? Yes, please.

About Lisa Du Bois Low

Digital Fanatic; High Ed Web developer and SM Community Manager; Crisis Communications Student; Google Analytics Addict.
This entry was posted in chocolate, coffee, favorites, peanut butter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

