Steakhouse Spinach Salad

Remember when we exchanged recipes after church suppers and pot lucks? Some of my all time faves were discovered that way. I don’t remember where I got this recipe, but I’ll never forget how it changed my view of spinach forever. Up until that point, I thought spinach was a mushy, stinky, disgustingly vile vegetable. I didn’t understand how anyone would eat it willingly. This salad was a revelation. Sweet and smoky, tangy and delicious. I’ve probably made it a thousand times.

As the recipe says, the more crispy bacon, the better and extra egg makes it a main dish on a hot summer day. I’ve never tried adding the sprouts, but I’ll bet fresh sprouts would be a delicious and nutritious addition. Dressed salad won’t keep, so only toss what you plan to serve. Bacon loses it’s crispness when chilled, but it’s still tasty enough for lunch the next day. The recipe makes twice as much dressing as you need, but it keeps well. It’s on the sweet side, but divine and a beautiful pale pink. The dressing calls for a lot of sugar. I typically only use a heaping 1/2 cup and I have used sugar substitutes for part of the sugar content with success.

I love to serve this salad with a perfectly grilled Filet Mignon, New York Strip or a nice salmon filet. Add a crispy baguette and dinner is served. No reservation needed.

Follow the recipe below and toss just before serving. Throw in some croutons or feta for extra pizazz. Enjoy!

20140315-174330.jpg



About Lisa Du Bois Low

Digital Fanatic; High Ed Web developer and SM Community Manager; Crisis Communications Student; Google Analytics Addict.
This entry was posted in favorites, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

