Sunday Brunch Waffles

I’m not a huge fan of breakfast, give me coffee and a few bites of pastry and I’m good until lunch. But when it’s brunch or breakfast for dinner, I’m in. And I LOVE a crispy waffle topped with berries and plenty of butter and maple syrup to fill each and every little square. And crispy bacon. Bacon makes everything better.

I made these for my son’s sleepover and I was lucky to get half a waffle and a few bacon crumbs. They were a hit.

This recipe is based on one from my go-to cookbook…Betty Crocker circa 1978. I have the 1981 edition. It’s falling apart and covered with notes and stains from countless uses. If I ever lose it, I’ll be heartbroken. Betty sure knows how to cook.

I make my waffle batter in a blender, they get lighter that way and the fruit gets nice and pureed AND it’s easier to pour. Use a food processor, mixer or do it the old-fashioned way by hand. A note about the butter, it seems like a lot, but you won’t be sorry! If you use unsalted butter, add 1/2 teaspoon of salt instead of just a dash. The batter can be made ahead the night before and stored in the refrigerator.

Crisp Strawberry Waffles
Serves 4
3/4 cup of sliced strawberries (or substitute frozen)
2 large eggs
1 3/4 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
dash of cinnamon
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 cups all purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
dash of salt

Blend eggs, milk, vanilla and berries until smooth. Blend in melted butter, cinnamon, baking powder, sugar and salt. Add the flour one cup at a time, blending just until smooth, don’t overmix or the gluten in the flour will develop and the waffles will not be as fluffy. Bake in a waffle iron per manufacturer’s directions. Serve them hot off the waffle iron topped with berries and a dusting of powdered sugar with a side of softened butter and warm maple syrup. Waffles lose their crispy texture in a hurry, so if you need to hold them, put them in a warm oven right on the racks, not on a plate. There’s nothing worse than butter than bits of cold butter or syrup that turns your hot fluffy waffle into a cold soggy one, so I always heat the syrup in the microwave and keep my butter in a butter bell on the counter.

Note on equipment: I’ve had expensive waffle irons and blenders and you really can’t beat the cheapo brands. You don’t have to break the bank for these items.

About Lisa Du Bois Low

Digital Fanatic; High Ed Web developer and SM Community Manager; Crisis Communications Student; Google Analytics Addict.
This entry was posted in favorites and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Brunch Waffles

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Brownies | Le Cake

Leave a Reply

