Red Velvet Brownies

Yes, you read that right. Red. Velvet. Brownies. Shut the front door. I am not a regular blogger and mostly blog to keep track of what and how I cook something. I’m endlessly improvising with what I have on hand when inspiration strikes. Like it did last night. I was so flattered that foodlikecake liked my Sunday Brunch Waffle post that of course I went to her blog and saw her Memorial Day Red Velvet Brownie post. Mind. Blown. I couldn’t stop thinking about them. So I gave them a try. Warning: the cream cheese frosting will change your life. Proceed with caution.

Improvisations: salted butter and just a dash of salt for the unsalted and white vinegar instead of cider. I used approximately 1 teaspoon of red food coloring. These brownies are as beautiful and as they are delicious. I flipped them out of the pan before I frosted them. Chill completely before slicing and use a knife dipped in hot water. The frosting is almost cheesecake like. Store them in a container with a lid because they will stick to plastic wrap.

Bon Appetite!

About Lisa Du Bois Low

Digital Fanatic; High Ed Web developer and SM Community Manager; Crisis Communications Student; Google Analytics Addict.
This entry was posted in brownies, cream cheese frosting, red velvet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

